Saturday, January 07, 2017

Newham Fabians Annual General Meeting 11 January & the National Fabians Society New Year Conference 14 Jan 2017

On Wednesday I am looking forward to the Newham Fabian AGM. See picture right from the last one I attended in 2011 (I think there was one in 2013 but none since).

Hat tip photos Dan McCurry. 

I think you can still join for £7 and attend.

"Newham Fabians Annual General Meeting

Wednesday 11 January 2017 at 7PM

Trinity Community Centre, East Avenue, London, E12 6SG.

Guest speaker: Andrew Harrop, General Secretary of the Fabian Society

Andrew will also officiate over the AGM and committee elections

All members of the Fabian Society living in the Newham area are warmly invited to the AGM of Newham Fabian Society. The meeting is open to members of both the national Fabian Society and of Newham Fabians. To take part in votes you need to join Newham Fabians.

The Secretary of Newham Fabians is Tahmina Rahman,"

(also on Saturday as a member of the National Fabians I am going to their New Year conference. Must remember to take my #LOVEUNIONS placards and leaflets :-)

"Fabian Society New Year conference 2017

This time next Saturday the Fabian Society will welcome Labour party leader Jeremy Corbyn MP onto the stage to open our 2017 New Year Conference. We are delighted Jeremy is joining us at our biggest and best event of the year, and we hope that you will too.

Alongside Jeremy Corbyn will be speakers from across the left and beyond, including MPs, policy experts and commentators. They will come together to have the fundamental debates the left needs on its purpose, organisation and ideas. Speakers include:

Jon Ashworth MP (shadow health secretary), Dawn Butler MP (shadow minister for diverse communities), Nia Griffith MP (shadow defence secretary), Keir Starmer MP (shadow secretary of state for exiting the European Union), Emily Thornberry MP (shadow foreign secretary), Rushanara Ali MP, Stella Creasy MP, Wayne David MP, Maria Eagle MP, Kate Green MP (Fabian Society chair), Caroline Flint MP, Margaret Hodge MP, Stephen Kinnock MP, Alison McGovern MP, Bridget Phillipson MP, Emma Reynolds MP, Seb Dance MEP, Luke Akehurst (Labour First), Richard Angell (Progress), Jonathan Bartley (Green party), Stephen Bush (New Statesman), Claire Fox (Institute of Ideas), Katie Ghose (Electoral Reform Society), Stephany Griffith-Jones (economist), Dr Jan Halper Hayes (Trump Transition Team), Ayesha Hazarika (commentator), Ruth Hunt (Stonewall), Paul Hunter (Smith Institute), Owen Jones (the Guardian), Neal Lawson (Compass), Helen Lewis (New Statesman), Hywel Lloyd (Labour Coast and Country), Cllr Sue MacMillan (Hammersmith and Fulham), Paul Mason (writer & broadcaster), Deborah Mattinson (Britain Thinks), Cllr Reema Patel (Barnet), Trevor Phillips (former chair, Equality & Human Rights Commission), Vicky Pryce (economist), Elizabeth Quintana (RUSI), Ania Skrzypek (FEPS), Ernst Stetter (FEPS), Jo Swinson (former LibDem MP), Leslie Vinjamuri (Chatham House & SOAS) and many more.

New Year Conference is always a highlight of the Fabian calendar, and I hope you can join us to hear Jeremy and all of our other speakers. Tickets are selling fast, and if you haven't booked yours already, head over to our website now - they're just £32 for Fabian members".

No comments: